GREATEST BASKETBALL PLAYER OF ALL TIME INSPIRE US

image

“Michael Jordan, a shooting guard capable of playing fine forward, by acclamation, Michael Jordan is the greatest basketball player of all time”.

I heard this review about the basketball legend sometime ago and decided to pen it down (as very typical of me) knowing I would get back to it someday to pick up the innate lessons it held.

Can I get some accolades for my spot-on ability to recognize phrases that held deeper meanings? Plus my reflective psyche that never fails to draw them out *smiles*.

Well, I went ahead and checked out the meaning of “shooting guard” and “forward”, I had to this because I only had a vague idea of what the word stands for as I wasn’t much of a ball fan.

In my finding I got to know that, a shooting guard, putting it simply, “is the player who takes a shot at the basket” and the forwards are “the 2 players on the court for a team, usually smaller than the center and bigger than the guards, yet they are often the team’s highest scorers”.

That he could play two out of the three main positions in basketball wasn’t what got my attention the day I wrote the review down, I had previously read of his failed attempt at getting into a team at an early age due to his height, his 6’5” friend: Leroy Smith, was chosen over his 5’11” self. 

But to think he could have gotten laid back and let this phase of his life get him grounded but rather threw himself into everyday practice, improving on his skills, and in the long run shooting himself up to a proud 6’3” was the central for me.

Until we learn to get our limits working for us, we wouldn’t break grounds. We are advised to know our weakness not for cradling purposes but to make strengths out of them.

We’ve heard it said a number of times that “set-backs are a set-up for come-backs”, true as that is, it doesn’t sit well with a number of us especially when the set-back looks like it’s come to stay and there isn’t an indication whatsoever that it holds a set-up say a come-back. But when we begin to draw from the lives that have gone ahead to prove this true, it makes it all the more real to us.

Note that no one in his family was that tall, at 5’11” he was taller than both his father and elder brother, by all standard getting to a 6.3 was an impossible feat but then what’s impossible to a man driven by passion, one determined to fulfill purpose, going at it with a dogged gait.

Hear this “from the start of his career, Jordan was unique among NBA players in that he had a special “Love of the Game Clause” written into his contract, which allowed him to play basketball against anyone at anytime, anywhere”. He loves the game; others do as well but know that:

there’s a level of commitment you give to a thing that it automatically begins to reciprocate the same. Stay committed to your dreams.

He hadn’t the height but he did passion, and we could say what he doesn’t have in height he made up for in talent but that he couldn’t get into his choice team is a pointer that talent is never enough. There’s no disputing the fact that a 5’11” Michael couldn’t have risen to this peak despite his fine ball skill, he could have gone ahead to record success in other aspects alright but definitely not here.

The reason we have Miss Nigeria (Big category) is because a model no matter how beautiful and shapely will not make it into the Miss Nigeria contest if she’s on the big side. Maybe this could change with time but for now that’s it and the same goes for basket ball, Michael couldn’t get in at a time due to his height barrier but he worked at it.

Is there something between you and your dreams? And you believe it surmountable, work at it and get on top.

He’s got a great collection of quotes but these two strike me as powerful:

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the gamewinning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed”

“Limits, like fear, is often an illusion”

Live! Learn!! Inspire!!!

Thanks for reading this article, and hope you found it inspiring. Please do share and leave your comments here.

Leave a Reply

